Visual Media Association successfully completes 2024 Board Elections

The Visual Media Association (VMA) has proudly announced the successful completion of its 2024 Board Elections, marking a pivotal moment in the organisation’s history with strengthened diversity across the industry.

The election was authorised by the Fair Work Commission and the nomination process has been officially conducted by the Australia Electoral Commission (AEC) across a six week audited process.

The new Board, set to take office on January 1, 2024, reflects a Board strengthened by diversity and expertise the forefront, with Board Officer gender equality and skills now including regional printers, training expertise, representatives from small and large print businesses, and vendors. The breadth across the VMA Board reinforces its commitment to representing the entire spectrum of the industry, improved diversity to skills and national representation for each State.

The Visual Media Association is the recognised peak industry body operating for over 141 years representing the paper, print, publishing, packaging, graphic design, distribution, and media technology industries across Australia.

A registered organisation, with direct signatory to the nine Awards across the industry and membership, the VMA offers an end-to-end industry association solution that is relevant in all that it undertakes: advocating the relevance of the established media – print; developing global partnerships and translating to regional requirements; awarding excellence; investing in products; and arming the industry with sales tools, sustainability collateral, industrial relations representation and more.

The VMA is the largest print industry body, committed to building a stronger united leadership to deliver the goals of members. United to lead strong advocacy, government advisory, skills and training programs, protection, and promotion of industry channels and more to ensure members’ businesses operate within a future-proofed strategy for success.

The newly elected Board officials are:

IVE Group CEO Matt Aitken, who takes on the role of president, national seat
Lithocraft executive chairman Kevin Pidgeon, who takes on the role of deputy president, national seat
The Lamson Group CEO Rodney Frost, who takes on the role of honorary treasurer, SA
The Label Factory managing director Stuart Fysh, who takes on the role of honorary treasurer, WA
Ball & Doggett national marketing manager Tony Bertrand, who takes on the role of board officer, TAS
Eckersley Print Group managing director Tom Eckersley, who takes on the role of board officer, QLD 
Morgan Printing director Holly Masters, who takes on the role of board officer, NSW
Kwik Kopy – Pitt St Sydney owner Nick Tuit who takes on the role of board officer, NSW 
Breen Printing director Kirsty Woodhead, who takes on the role of board officer, VIC

“I am very pleased to have a greater level of diversity on the Board from small to large, metropolitan to regional business, supplier and representation across all sectors of our industry. Furthermore, for the first time in the history of the association, two women representing our industry, and I thank Kirsty and Holly for nominating and joining the Board. I also welcome Tony for his supplier perspective, an important cohort of our membership as we commit to one industry focus. I look forward to the 2024 Board of Directors providing leadership, diversity, and commitment to implementing the new strategy on behalf of our members and industry,” said IVE Group CEO and association president Matt Aitken .

The Association released a new strategic plan earlier this year with four key focus areas including HR/IR Advisory, Skills & Training, Leadership, Engagement & Growth and Environmental, Social and Governance. The new strategy is being rolled out across the country and has seen new programs, Better Business Tools, Annual Industry Metrics, P.o.P (Power of Print) Summit and more, already underway.

“I look forward to working with the new Board and building from their diverse skillsets to advance the Association’s mission – member success. It’s particularly heartening to note that all three incoming Board Officers are long-standing members, their insights will be invaluable in shaping the future strategic direction of our organisation,” added VMA CEO Kellie Northwood.

Exiting board officers include Spot Productions managing director Simon Carmody who began as a board officer for The Real Media Collective and took up a casual vacancy on the VMA board during the merger negotiations, which have now concluded. Spot Press managing director John Georgantzakos held hon. treasurer and deputy president positions since election onto the former PVCA board in 2018 and Kuhn Corp director, Walter Kuhn has held president and deputy president roles since his PVCA Board election in 2016, seeing Kuhn as one of the longest-serving board officers.

“John and Walter have left an indelible mark on PVCA and VMA. John’s financial acumen has been a cornerstone of our organisation’s success in his capacity as Treasurer and Deputy President, and Walter’s steadfast commitment and long-serving leadership as the President during turbulent times has been truly commendable. Their contributions will not be forgoten, I thank Simon, John, and Walter for their support over the past eighteen months in my position as President and we wish them all the best in their future endeavours,” stated Aitken.

The current board will continue to govern until the end of the year with the new board being appointed from 1 January 2024. The incoming board officers will commence attendance to board meetings as ‘observers’ for the immediate period.

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required